For 2017, Sweetieheart and I went for a first hike at Fort Richardson. We met up with a group of people interested in hiking and history.

In that group was a nice lady with her dog. She came with her son, husband, and another dog but we only interacted with the lady and her dog. They had spent the night at Fort Richardson. Her son had planned on sleeping in a hammock tent but storms overnight had brought him into the tent of his parents. He was spending the morning drying stuff out while she took the dogs for a morning walk/hike.

At the end of the two-mile hike, she noticed Sweetie and I peeling off from the rest of the group and consulting my phone.

“Are you doing that treasure hunt thing?” she asked.

“Yes. There’s one less than a 1/4 mile away. Do you want to come with us?”

She handed the dog off to her husband and then came along with us.

We stayed on the marked trail. The cache was a bit off-trail but I’m uncomfortable with disturbing the wilderness (and any sleeping snakes) so I try to stay on-trail for as long as possible.

We chatted and learned about the storms and her family. She was interested in geocaching because she has grandsons who are getting old enough to geocache. She thought it would be another family activity for camping trips. (Apparently camping is a favorite family activity for them.)

We described what we’d be looking for and she was the first one to spot the cache! Sweetie signed the log as we explored the contents of the cache.

Will she become a caching grandma? Maybe. I hope so. She seems like a nice lady who loves her family. Anything that keeps a family together is good.

Happy 2017!

Our new lady friend explores her first geocache.

The Lady and the Cache

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a Reply

