Many years ago, Sweetie was a student at Tarrant County Community College, Northwest Campus. Many years before that, I was a professor at the same campus. A few years later, Sweetie and I visited an art exhibit being held on campus. After the presentation, we went for a walk around the lake. Kind of.

A photo of the early stages of construction.

The way it looked before construction of the new trail.

When I was there, the lake was there but there was only a bit of sidewalk around the campus touched the lake. When Sweetie attended, not much had been done to extend the sidewalk. By the time of the art exhibit, construction had begun on a trail around the lake.

The Art Scene

One of the artworks and me

The trail is opened and the Tarrant County Walkers held a walk to celebrate the occasion.

It’s been a while since I last went on a real walk. But it was such a beautiful day and I was feeling so good that even though we signed up originally for a 5k, we extended it to a 10k. As a result, we were the last ones to return. They were so worried that they called us to check up on us.

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a Reply

