I want to log this cache as a cemetery cache. But it’s not marking the death of an individual. It marks the death of a town.

A historical marker and a memorial stone mark Carter, TX.

Sweeties studies the markers.

Carter, Texas, was once a bustling, growing town. It was on the Goodnight Trail. Then it was struck by Indians (their words!). Then there were gunfights. Finally, there were tornadoes. These calamities killed the town of Carter.

Memorial stones mark ihte history of Carter.

This marker reminds us of how wild the Wild West was.

All that is left of Carter now is a church which has been heavily vandalized but bravely soldiers on and a pavilion for reunions.

The church and the pavilion

The Town of Carter

I learned about Carter in some books about paranormal (haunted) Fort Worth and Tarrant County. People have reported hearing gunshots (from the gunfights?), children crying (from children kidnapped by the Native Americans?), and piano music (from the church or saloons?). People have reported having rocks thrown at them or thrown on the roof of the church. People have reported ominous feelings.

I felt a cool spring breeze. I heard traffic in the distance and the calls of many birds. Most of all, I felt that peace that comes from an isolated spot.

There’s also a geocache. The geocache is surrounded by brambles and poison ivy but it gives geocachers an excuse to get off the beaten path and explore Texas history. In other words, bring gardening gloves.

Sweetieheart signs the Log

Sweetieheart signs the log.

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a comment