Yesterday, Victor and I attended the Historic Rusk Walk in historic Rusk. To be honest, I had never heard of Rusk before the event was published. However, I am into geocaching and volksmarching because they take me places I’ve never been before.

I forgot my camera/phone so I haven’t any pics. However, I have accomplishments to post.

  • This was our first volksmarch outside of the North Texas area.
  • This was Victor’ first visit to East Texas.
  • We joined a nice lady, Maki, for the 5k. (Normally we avoid other volksmarchers because we’re really slow.) We were able to keep up with Maki!
  • We turned in our newcomers booklets and bought the next level of booklet. We’re no longer newbies!!!! (A very nice lady at the walk told us she’d take our booklets to headquarters personally and to expect a certificate and pin to celebrate our accomplishments in the mail.)
  • At the end of the walk, my Fitbit announced that I’d completed 250 miles since I joined Fitbit in April 2014.

I’ve learned a bit from this walk.

  • I’m faster than I used to be.
  • 5k is no longer the challenge it used to be, even with hills.
  • Rusk has the longest footbridge in the world. It’s also an old bridge–originally built to keep sections of Rusk connected during floods.
  • 85-year old birthday girls can walk 10ks. (I hope I’m able to when I’m 85.)
  • If I get up at 6AM, I can drive 200+ miles to make a walk.
  • It’s cheaper than I thought it would be to drive 200+ miles to make a walk.

I’m glad I went to Rusk. It was well worth it.

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

3 responses »

  1. walktx says:

    Thought I saw you there, but didn’t get a chance to talk to you. Glad you are expanding your horizons!

  2. […] I rediscovered Black Jack Ketchum in Rusk. […]

Leave a comment