Finding an Urban Geocache

We found it!

Friday was stormy but the forecasters predicted a lovely Saturday albeit breezy. Saturday dawned with a heavy mist, occasionally slipping into sprinkles. This did not bode well for DEN Geocaching Day 2011.

I expected 6-12 teachers. I worried that the two extra GPS units I’d accumulated would not be enough to accommodate everyone. Most of the teachers planned to get a phone app for geocaching but not everyone’s phone was that up-to-date. (We are teachers, after all.)

Then the excuses started pouring in. Andrea’s washing machine broke and she was waiting for the repairman. Donna slept in. The reality was that it was simply too miserable out. Muddy. Gray. Humid enough to be uncomfortable; still enough that the mosquitoes were out.

Susan, Tysha, and Victor would have to be enough. And they were!

After a full morning of geocaching, we adjourned to a restaurant to review our day. Now they’re hooked, too. Susan plans on joining us when we go to Aurora, Texas, to geocache. Let’s see who else can be lured into our modern-day treasure hunts.

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a comment