Happy New Year!

I haven’t been blogging regularly but then I haven’t been doing much regularly. I walked 1255 miles in 2017 but very few of them were volksmarches. I logged less than 20 geocaches. But 2017 was a good year.

My father stands on the edge of a badlands canyon.

Daddy in the Badlands

I went on a week-long trip with my daddy. We went on his first hike together. I took him to his first national park. We knocked “visiting Mt. Rushmore” off his bucket list. Best of all, I spent time with him, something I haven’t done since I was a preteen.

I made a new walking friend, Madelyn, when Victor and I went to Houston for a volksmarch. It was her first volksmarch.

After the volksmarch, Victor and I visited Galveston. I hadn’t visited Galveston in over a decade; Victor had never been. Two weeks, the hurricane hit.

A view of a Galveston Street

Galveston Street View

I finally found a geocache I’ve been hunting for but not finding due to muggle activity at the Fort Worth Train Stations.

It’s been a good year but I’m ready for something more.

My Resolutions for 2018

  • Walk more than 1255 miles.
  • Log more than 50 geocaches.
  • Go on another Daddy-Daughter trip / Explore more.
  • Meet up with Madelyn for volksmarch in February.
  • Walk at least 10 volksmarches.

 

 

About scribedscribbles

Like most people, I hate filling out profile pages. Who am I? Well, I’m a wife, teacher, daughter, and friend. I’m also an intellectual, an introvert, a night owl, and a bookworm. I work with struggling readers and overachievers, ages 11 to 15. I take care of students, a cat, two rabbits, friends, and my husband. I enjoy geocaching, reading, volksmarching, gardening, crocheting for charity, lecturing, science fiction, learning, and teaching. My favorite colors are blue, green, and purple. I am judgmental, dyslexic, sweet, overweight, graying, short, generous, loving, supportive, and chronically early to meetings. I’m afraid of snakes, putting my head underwater, heights, depths, and failure.

Leave a comment